MotoGP or Motorcycle Racing Grand Prix is internationally famous. The races take place annually in cities around the world. Spain is the venue for the competition 4 times per year in the cities Jerez, Barcelona, Alcañiz, in Aragon region, and Valencia.
Source: Motogp

The first European Championship was held in 1938, organized by the Fédération Internationale des Clubs Motocyclistes. Due to the Second World War, the competition was interrupted until 1949, when the first international race, Grand Prix Motorcycle Racing, was established.
The especially the competitions from 1980-2000 where exciting in the premier class because of the advanced machines from Honda, Suzuki and Yamaha. The American riders such as Eddie Lawson, Randy Mamola, Freddie Spencer, Wayne Rainey and Kevin Schwantz made each race even more thrilling.
The highest speed which was ever recorded in a race were 249,76 km/h by Valentino Rossi in 1996. However the peak, which amounts to 361 km/h, was reached by Andrea Dovizioso in the warmup training at the Grand Prix in Qatar in 2016.
In 2002 the “World Championship” was renamed into “MotoGP”. In the same year there was one of the biggest change in the regulations, riders were allowed to use 4-stoke instead of just 2-bikes bikes.

Most famous riders worldwide:
  • Giacomi Agostini (Italy): He was the most successful rider in the Grand Prix history. His career started in 1963 and lasted until 1977.
  • Mike Hailwood (UK): Mike won 10 out of 12, which makes him in relative numbers the most successful participant (83%). He took part in races from 1985 to 1967.
  • Mick Doohan (Australia): This rider won 12 out of 15 Grand Prix. He first participated in 1989, the last time he went on a race was in 1999.
  • Valentino Rossi (Italy): Valentino Rossi is the most successful contemporary driver. He started his career in the year 2000.
  • Marc Márquez (Spain): The current champion of MotoGP in 2016. He started to take part in Motorcycle Racing Grand Prix in 2013.
Important Spanish motorcyclist:
  • Álex Crivillé: He was the first Spanish winner in the MotoGP race in Assen in 1992. Additionally he was the first Spaniard which won the whole MotoGP championship in 1999.
  • Marc Márquez: As already mentioned above, Marc is motorcyclist which is active right now. He is not only the youngest winner in the primer-class, but also the youngest World Champion. He reached the Champion title at an age of 20 years.
  • Jorge Lorenzo: Jorge started his career in 2008 and is the first Spaniard who won more than one MotoGP title, in 2010, 2012 and 2015.
Jerez has been an important venue for motorcycle races since the 60ies, when a lot of famous riders competed races there. Due to the popularity, a permanent circuit was built in 1985, which is nowadays known whole over the world. In 1992 there was the first big change of the circuit to adapt to quality standards. Since then, the track was renovated and modified constantly to keep the good reputation and establish a renowned image.
The competition of the upcoming season will be held from the 3rd to the 6th of May in 2018.
Source: John McPhee Official Website

Circuit de Barcelona/Catalunya was opened on the 10th of September in 1991 and is located in Montmeló. During the first season only Spanish Touring Car Championship and Formula Grand Prix were held there. The following season, they also included Moto GP Grand Prix. Since then, the Spanish F1 Grand Prix and the Catalan MotoGP Grand Prix are held there annually.
For the 26th time, Circuit de Barcelona/Catalunya will host FIM MotoGP™ World Championship of the next season. You can join it from the 15th to the 18th of June in 2018 to cheer one of your favourite motorcycle stars.
Source: Motorcyclist

The circuit MotorLand Aragon is one of the four venues for MotoGP in Spain, located in Alcañiz. The event dates for the following season in 2018 will be in September.
The opening of the Ricardo Tormo Circuit, the circuit of Valencia, was on the 19th September 1999. Since then, thousands of fans annually come to the races to cheer their favourite riders. It was constructed in a stadium to assure the audience can follow the riders during the whole race. The circuit has received many prizes which should recognize the quality of the race course.
Source: Motogp

Like every year, the finale race of MotoGP takes place on the Ricardo Tormo Circuit. It lures over 120.000 fans who watch the spectacle. From the 10th to the 12th of November it is time for the finales again. To make sure you have a holistic experience of the race, as well as of the city of Valencia, take a look in our packages Valencia MotoGP.
the moto gp packages for 2018 in Spain are already available at Across Spain. If you would like to take a look at them and receive further details or you have any questions, do not hesitate to contact us.