La Liga 2018/2019

Beginning on 17th August 2018, La Liga 2018-2019 season is now underway and it is set to be an exciting year. Reigning champions Barcelona will now have to defend their title against 19 other Spanish sides,  5 of which are based in Madrid this season – Real Madrid, Atletico Madrid, Getafe, Leganes and Rayo Vallecano. This is also the first time ever that the league will use Video Assistant Referee; technology which allows the decisions made by the head referee to be reviewed via video footage. Clubs promoted to La Liga this season are Sociedad Deportiva Huesca, Rayo Vallecano and Valladoid. The season will continue until it finishes in May 2019.

the intense rivalry between Lionel Messi and Gareth Bale during El Clásico. Source: Daily Mirror

History of Football in Spain

Football arrived in Spain in the late 1900s as an import from the British Isles, when Spanish students who had studied in Britain brought their newfound football knowledge home. In 1890, Spain's first official football game was organized in Seville. The opposing teams were Huelva Recreation Club and Sevilla FC. Regional Spanish football teams began playing against each other competitively in 1915, and the national team – known as La Selección – played in the Olympic Games for the first time in 1920, earning a silver medal. In 1928, 10 Spanish teams were put into the league’s “Primera” division - Real Madrid, FC Barcelona, Athletic Bilbao, Athletic Madrid, Real Sociedad, Racing Santander, RCD Español, Arenas Club de Getxo, CE Europa and Real Unión.

Football in Spain today

Football is the most popular sport in Spain, and is a widespread passion among the Spanish people. The First Division of the Liga de Fútbol Profesional, known as La Liga, is one of the strongest football leagues in both Europe and the world. Spanish football clubs have won a total of 66 international tournaments.  They are the most successful in different current European competitions, such as UEFA Champions League, UEFA Super Cup (shared), and UEFA Europa League.

map of 2018/2019 La Liga teams

La Liga

La Liga, also known as Liga de Fútbol Profesional, was the first national league in Spain, founded by Álvaro Trejo (director at Arsenal Club de Getxo) in 1927. According to UEFA’s league coefficient, La Liga has been the top league in Europe over the last five years. It has produced Europe’s top-rated club more times than any other league, and its clubs have also won the most UEFA Champions League, UEFA Europa League, UEFA Super Cup and FIFA World Cup titles. La Liga players have accumulated the highest number of FIFA Ballon d’Or awards. It is also one of the most popular professional sports leagues in the world, with an average attendance of 27,000 for league matches last season.

Atlético Madrid fans during a game at Wanda Metropolitano

the passionate Atlético Madrid fans singing during a game at Wanda Metropolitano

Competitions this season

There are annual competitions arranged by the Royal Spanish Football Federation, which is the national governing body.

  • Copa del Rey – annual football competition for Spanish football teams, also known as La Copa. The winner of the Copa del Rey goes to the UEFA Europa League. FC Barcelona are the current cup holders. This season’s final will take place on the 25th May 2019.
  • Supercopa de España – Spanish football championship contested by the winners of La Liga and the Copa del Rey. If a team wins both titles, the runners up of the Copa del Rey play against the winners of La Liga. FC Barcelona are the current cup holders, although the dates of the next tournament have not yet been determined.

El Clásico

EL Clásico is the name given to any game played between Real Madrid and FC Barcelona during La Liga season. It is considered one of the biggest club football games in the world, and is among the most viewed annual sporting events. The next El Clásico will take place on 28th October 2018 at Camp Nou in Barcelona.

an excited Atlético Madrid squad celebrating a goal 

Across Spain Ticketing Agent

across spain is an official ticketing agent for the following teams, amongst others on request:

  • Real Madrid Club de Fútbol (Real Madrid)

Founded in 1902, play in the Santiago Bernabeu Stadium, with 33 league titles and 13 European cups, Real Madrid was named the FIFA Best Club of the 20th Century.

  • Futbol Club Barcelona (FC Barcelona)

Founded in 1899, play in Camp Nou Stadium, with 30 Copa del Rey titles and 25 league titles, Barcelona is one of the most famous football teams in the world and play in the biggest stadium in Spain.

  • Club Atlético de Madrid (Atlético Madrid)

Founded in 1903, play in the Wanda Metropolitano Stadium, also known as Los Colchoneros. The team has 3 Europa League titles and 2 Super Cup titles, and have become a real competitor to Real Madrid and FC Barcelona.

  • Reial Club Deportiu Espanyol de Barcelona (RCD Espanyol)

Founded in 1900, play in the RCDE Stadium, and are the second biggest team in Catalonia. They have earned 4 Spanish Cup titles and 6 Copa Catalunya titles.


the incredible view from the top of Wanda Metropolitano Stadium. Source: Eurosport


Would you like the opportunity to watch some of Spain and the world’s best football teams with thousands of other Spanish and international fans at their home stadium? Across Spain is an official ticketing agency of FC Barcelona, Real Madrid, Atlético Madrid and RCD Espanyol, as well as various other La Liga teams on request. With Across Spain, you can have your football tickets, accommodation in the city, airport/train station transfers and various other services organised for you in advance. If you would like to make the most of this fantastic offer, please do not hesitate to contact us for more information about our football packages!