Spanish world heritage cities

World heritage city

The Organization of World Heritage Cities (OWHC) is an international non-profit, non-governmental organization of 250 cities in which sites of the UNESCO World Heritage list are located. It was founded in 1993 in Fez, Morocco. The headquarters of the OWHC are located in Quebec City, Quebec, Canada.
How to become a member

Any city may become a member of the OWHC if it possesses the following two characteristics:

1 .The city must be the location of a living urban fabric of historic or contemporary interest. Its outstanding universal value has been recognized by the UNESCO and therefore has been registered in the World Heritage List.
2. The city has to adhere to the values of the OWHC.


The requirements that cities must gather to receive the title are six:
  1. The city must be an example of the creative capacity of the human race.
  2. It must show the values of a particular period of history
  3. It must give testimony to a cultural tradition of a civilization still existing or already disappeared.
  4. It must exemplify a kind of architecture of a historical era
  5. It has to be an example of past human settlements.
  6. It must be associated with some still living tradition, representing some belief or work with a single universal meaning.

Spanish world heritage cities
Alcalá de Henares, this is the birthplace of Cervantes, author of Don Quixote. His house is an excellent example of a typical 16th-century Castilian home. Here you can also see the Europe's oldest open-air theatre.  Ávila with its medieval city which city wall is the best conserved in Europe. Cáceres with its fortresses, renaissance palaces and medieval town squares….Córdoba which it is hometo one of the Caliphate's most spectacular works of architecture: the Great Mosque. Cuenca and its unusual 'casas colgadas' (hanging houses) are an example of man's capacity to transform his surroundings in perfect integration with nature. Mérida with its emblematic buildings, such as the Roman theatre and the Amphitheatre, make its archaeological site, are one of the best conserved in Spain.  Salamanca and its university was founded in 1254 and is one of the world's oldest. San Cristóbal de la  Laguna the origins of Latin American urban architecture are to be found in this city in the Canary Islands.  Santiago de Compostela this is the final destination for thousands of pilgrims who take the Way of Saint  James every year. It has a splendid example of Gothic, Renaissance, Baroque and Neoclassical architecture. Segovia and its Roman aqueduct is a marvel of engineering. It is built using only blocks of  stone, without mortar, held together simply by a perfect, ingenious balance of forces. Tarragona, Toledo where muslims, Jews and Christians lived together in harmony here for centuries, leaving their indelible  mark on Toledo's streets, monuments and buildings, Ibiza and Úbeda and Baeza.

The statement received our cities as World Heritage by UNESCO is an honor and international recognition and at the same time is a great responsibility that we must take in order to guarantee the protection and conservation of all those values future generations.

Cities have also important duties, such as maintenance of the historic centers, environmental protection in many cases has been degraded by unfortunate modern interventions, restoration and profitability of large amount of built heritage character monumental and all those problems caused by the fact face a configuration of the past with modern life. To sum up all of us, the society in general, has the duty to contribute to the maintenance of cities so future generations can enjoy them.

across spain offers a wide range of leisure packages that will let you know all theses wonderful cities